We are often told Indian River is the easiest county to apply for and obtain a marriage license since there is little to no waiting. After your ceremony has been performed and your license has been completed by the officiant, you have the option to bring it back to the Clerk of Courts office or mail it. If you choose to take it to the Clerk of Courts office, it only takes the clerk a few minutes to prepare your certified copy.
Also, courthouse ceremonies are no longer performed during business hours by the Indian River County Clerk of Court’s office. Courthouse ceremonies are performed by Robin. She will meet you at the courthouse and perform your ceremony. Once Robin signs your marriage license you can take to the Clerk of Court to be issued your certified marriage license. For those couples wanting a quick ceremony, this is your best option. Call Robin 772.925.9504 to schedule your courthouse ceremony.
The following information was taken from the Indian River Clerk of Courts website.
Located in Room 224 at the Indian River County Courthouse
772-226-3195 or 772-226-3175
The Main Courthouse Recording Division located in Vero Beach processes marriage licenses between the hours of 8:30-4:00.
The North County office, located in Sebastian processes marriage licenses between the hours of 8:30-3:30.
Marriage license requirements and fees are set by Florida Statutes.
You need not be a resident of Florida to apply for a marriage license in Indian River County.
Persons 18 years of age and older may apply without parental consent. Persons under 18 years of age may apply with consent of both parents. (Consent forms are available from the Clerk.)
Exceptions to age requirement:
A male or a female under the age of 18 may apply if previously married and divorced. A certified copy of the final judgment is required.
A male or female under the age of 18 may apply if they are parents of a child or are expectant parents. They are required to sign an affidavit provided by the Clerk stating their parental status. If pregnant, the applicant is required to provide a letter from a physician verifying the pregnancy.
Persons who have been previously married need to supply the month, day and year that the last marriage ended.
A driver’s license, state issued identification card or passport must be presented at the time the application is made. A Social Security number must be provided on the application. Any person not a citizen of the United States may provide an alien registration number or another form of identification.
A fee payable in cash or credit card is required at the time the application is made. NO OTHER FORM OF PAYMENT CAN BE ACCEPTED.
|Florida Residents with Premarital Preparation Course Completion Certificate||61.00|
|Non-Florida Residents or Florida Residents without Premarital Preparation Course Completion Certificate||86.00|
|*Credit / Debit Card Fee 3.5%|
REQUIREMENTS FOR A REDUCED RATE
Couples who have completed an approved Marriage Preparation Course will receive a reduction of the normal marriage license fee when they present a certificate of completion at the time of application. We have a list of approved organizations that provide such courses.
For those couples who do not attend a course, the effective date of the marriage license shall be delayed three days from the date of application. There is no delay for non-Florida residents and those who have completed a Marriage Preparation Course.
THE MARRIAGE LICENSE
The marriage license is valid on the effective date located in box 18a of the license. The marriage must be performed within 60 days (expiration date is in box 19 of the license). The completed license must be returned to the Clerk’s Office within 10 days following the ceremony. After being recorded in the Official Records, a certified copy will be mailed to the designated address.
You may complete the marriage license application on-line by clicking the link below. Both parties then bring the application number to the courthouse in Vero Beach or the satellite office in Sebastian to complete the application process. The Deputy Clerk will review the application and prepare the license to marry.
THE MARRIAGE CEREMONY
The ceremony must take place within the state of Florida. A notary public, an ordained clergy, and all judicial officers, may perform a marriage ceremony. Witnesses are not required.
FAMILY LAW HANDBOOK
Both parties must read the Family Law Handbook prior to applying for a marriage license. Each applicant must attest that he or she has obtained and read, or otherwise accessed, the information contained in the handbook. The Family Law Handbook can be read online before coming to the Courthouse or in person once you arrive at the Courthouse. The handbook is also available in Spanish.